• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Rain and Cannons

craiggbrown

Corsair
Storm Modder
For some reason in my game it never rains except if I get in a storm and have to battle the lightning and water spout. does anyone else notice this phenomenon? And why can't you put different caliber cannon in different spots on your ships cannon placement? it is ether all of one caliber or nothing.

Just wondering. :shrug

Rain... same thing... i suppose is a framerate optimization thing...
And about cannons... well is a shame, i'm no coder, but i suppose there is a line to determine type and caliber... If this line includes a reference to the cannon locators, maybe you can define how many of those are in one type, and then add another "type and caliber" line to define another set of cannons... deck 1, deck 2 etc...
If that is possible, the you would need a way to define wich cannons you want to shoot, and also you would need a second (even a third in the given case) interfase that shows the actual state of those decks... not to mention the interfase change needed to fix the cannons when you buy/replace them...
Hope i was clear on the idea... but then again, if it was that easy... they would have done it from scratch...
Actually that (cannons) was one of the first things i've noticed about the game... i wanted to have an always ready battery for close distances

Yeah, come to think of it I can't remember regular rain in the game either.

Agree completely about the cannons too. Way back when the trailer first came out they flashed the cannon allocation screen briefly and I thought "well finally, now I'll be able to put cannons on the sides for the heavy punch during battle and culverines on the bow and stern for the range during chases". But no dice.