• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Bug Punitive Squadrons

Jingo7

Landlubber
Hello, not sure if this thread is the best to post this in, but the build has a problem with not encountering 'punitive squadrons' (boats that actively come after you if you've been bad), which I think detracts from enjoyment of the game.

I'm not a coder or nothing but it could be related to this:
In PROGRAM>Encounters>Encounters_map.c
Code:
    // try to make punitive squadron
    ref rMainCharacter = GetMainCharacter();
    int iReputation = sti(rMainCharacter.reputation);
    if(iReputation < 40 && iCharacterIndexAsEnemy != -1)    // FIX-ME
    {
        if(rand(100) < 40 * ((41 - iReputation) / 40))
        {
            iEncounterType = ENCOUNTER_TYPE_PUNITIVE_SQUADRON;
        }
    }

// NK do this below:
    // find real encounter if not punitive

// nation find
    int iNationsCanBe[MAX_NATIONS];
    int iNumNationsCanBe = 0;
    for (int i=0; i<NATIONS_QUANTITY; i++)
    {
        /*bool bCanBe = Encounter_CanNation(iEncounterType, i);
        if(!bCanBe) continue;*/
        if(iCharacterIndexAsEnemy != -1 && GetNationRelation2Character(i, iCharacterIndexAsEnemy) != RELATION_ENEMY) continue;
        if(i == iNearIslandNation && rand(2) == 1)
        {
            iNationsCanBe[0] = i;
            iNumNationsCanBe = 1;
            break;
        }
        iNationsCanBe[iNumNationsCanBe] = i;
        iNumNationsCanBe++;
    }

if(iNumNationsCanBe == 0) return false;

rEncounter.Nation = iNationsCanBe[rand(iNumNationsCanBe - 1)];

// find real encounter if not punitive - NK use FindEncounter() 05-06-27
    if(iEncounterType == -1)
    {
        iEncounterType = FindEncounter(ENCOUNTER_WAR, sti(rEncounter.Nation)); if(iEncounterType == -1) return false;

Moved to a separate thread.