• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Cannons will not fire - advice for AoP2 noob

amiserable

Landlubber
Hello you Piratey Gods Avast! ect. ahem -- guys, I am a total noob. That said, pls take pity on said noob. I thank you, sirs and / or madams.

After being harassed by a co-worker for months on the awesome saucy-ness of Age of Pirates 2, I finally bought it and fired it up. He told me it was basically unplayable without a patch, and he raves about your combined mod 3, so I just went ahead and installed that as well (thus I have no idea what the un-patched version is like).

I've just started playing, and I can see why he loves this game. I too, am smitten by it. However, I have a problem. My cannons will NOT fire in a battle.

I've re-mapped them, and tried and tried. read the manual, looked thru many FAQs, but I can not find a reason. Everything else works so well, I find it very difficult to believe something is wrong with the mod or even the buggy game.

Could it be that you MUST have a cannoner assigned as an officer for the cannons to fire on your ship? I have no officers, and can not seem to assign myself to the roll.

Okay, lets move to the most stupid, noobest question of the week : Do you require a cannoner assigned as a ship's officer for your cannons to fire? I have the cannons loaded, I am point-blank abeam a ship, cannons pointed right at him, plenty of powder and crew.....clicky-click and no bang-bang. Any ideas, sirs?

With this, I bow, certain of winning the greatest and most stupid noob question of the week.
I thank you, sirrahs.

No need for a cannoneer, but you need gunpowder to be able to fire them, you can buy the powder at the store.

Cheers, :cheers