• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Discussion Best Sea Dogs/AOP title (With & Without mods)

MatthewThePirate

EccentricMatthew
So, wow, it's been a real long time since I've posted here.

I play Sea Dogs 2 now and again, as it remains my favorite of the series for various reasons, all the more so with New Horizons.

I recently started playing again and of course I decided to install AOP2 as well, for a comparison whilst installing the GOF Eras mod (which I recently found out about). Overall I still felt that SD2 was superior to AOP2. I suddenly was reminded today of why I stuck to SD2 over AOP 2. AOP2, to me, feels lazy in design, copy and paste cities are a staple, and they seem so tiny in size in comparison to SD2. It feels rather "bland" to play. Where as I find SD2 much more immersive and fun, and each town has an almost unique look to it. Just better vibes overall.

However I've not played other games in the series, and I recently became aware of Sea Dogs: To each his own. The latest of the releases, which of course people have just stated is a modded AOP2...

So really, I wanted opinions of the community, do any other titles of the series offer anything more in gameplay than SD2? And also what would people rate each game in the series (both with mods and no mods). Personally I'd say.. from what I've "seen" is that SD2 remains the best, both modded and unmodded, simply because a lot of effort seems to have been put into it as I covered earlier, the detailing and so on. The other games afterward only seem to trump in looks overall (it would be great if the sea textures or graphics, as well as character models from the later games could be imported into SD2, perfection! And the NH remastered would be great if it gets completed).