• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

unity?

violet-ta

Landlubber
Hello! I am a young programmer and my dream is to work on some game like this :)
But I have no serious gamedev experience, now I try to get basic knowledge of popular game engines. Could someone explain why you choose Unity over, for example, UE4? Maybe it has some bugs like Cryengine or there's some other reason?

Thank you.

At the time UE4 was not available yet and therefore not an option.
We tried the previous version of Unreal, which did not allow updating the weather without reloading the scene.
That is of course a rather crucial requirement for a game like this.

Switching engines is a choice that should not be made lightly as it costs a lot of time and effort to do that.
We left CryEngine because it proved impossible to make the game we wanted with it.
But Unity can do it.

Last edited:
Thanks.
I understand that it's not easy to change engines and you won't do that again.
Just out of interest, if you had a choice now, would you still choose unity?

Difficult question to answer. To make a proper choice, you need to be familiar with all the options, don't you?
At the time we were familiar with the options that existed back then. I don't know if the current developers are fully familiar with the options now.
I could understand if they aren't, because it is a bit pointless to study alternatives that you aren't using anyway. :shrug

Probably, yes. Unity is every bit as capable as its competitors and it's only getting better.

I'd advise you to leave it at that. Engine choices have been a sore topic in the past and we'd rather not focus on that now.

Indeed.

We are very satisfied with Unity and what it is capable of. It truly is exactly what we need for HoO.