• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Time advancement

Bullgod

Landlubber
Hi everybody,
I hope this is a proper place to post my question. I'm asking about CoAS script in particular.
I'm no coder and my understanding of whatever is in game script files is kind of vague, so I can't figure it out by myself without learning the programming language (it's C, right?). I wasn't able to find anything on what I'm looking for anywhere, so I don't know if it was tried before.
Anyway, my question is:
Is it possible to add a bit of code somewhere to advance time by some amount (random number of minutes or rather hours) whether player travels to another inland map? I really think travelling from one end of Jamaica (for example) to the other should take more time than a minute. I think it would also have significant impact on gameplay if traveling through island would be more time consuming.
I'm actually asking if anyone knows where such code could be inserted and how should it look like (if it's possible at all).

Actually the same thing refers to "teleporting" on sea map, but that's less important, as I can simply not use that feature (or use it only in case of ships or places close by, not beaches on the opposite side of island).

Should be possible. That was done as a very old mod in PotC as well.

This is how it works in PotC. File is PROGRAM\Locations\locations_loader.c:
Code:
bool LoadLocation(ref loc)
{
   traceif("LoadLocation(ref loc) " + loc.id);
   PostEvent(EVENT_LOCATION_LOAD,0);

int i;
   bool res;
   ref mainCharacter = GetMainCharacter(); // KK

for (i = 0; i < MAX_SHIPS_IN_LOCATION; i++) { iShips[i] = -1; } // KK

//Time update==========================================================================