1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

How can make new Real piratebrig ship Modell!

Discussion in 'Ship Modeling' started by pirateking, Nov 28, 2017.

  1. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    581
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    @Grey Roger
    hm Cool i got it!

    Hm but the Interface is missing.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2017
  2. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,660
    Check "RESOURCE\INI\INTERFACES\pictures.ini". Does it have a line for "Brig_20_Gun1_181"? (The one included with the 31st August installer, and with the update archive, has that line. But if you have your own version of "pictures.ini" to allow interfaces for your own custom characters, it may be missing that line.)
     
  3. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,660
    I've been doing a bit of work on those. For one thing, I renamed all the .gm files to something a bit more descriptive. Most of them are already in use, either as standalone figureheads or incorporated into "deck.gm" files, which means their texture files are also already included. So I hex-edited them to use the files already in the game. For the three which I couldn't find, I used TX Convertor to convert their .bmp.tx files to .tga and then back to .tga.tx, renamed them, and hex-edited the figurehead models to use the renamed versions.

    There were two versions of a Neptune figurehead, both identical. There's an alternate pair of texture files for Neptune already included in the game, which makes him green instead of blue, so I edited the second version to use the green files.

    The result is available here:
    http://piratesahoy.bowengames.com/potc/Grey Roger/VCO figureheads.zip
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  4. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,948
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
  5. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,341
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    Info:
    Everything in VCO is about twice the size in POTC so these figureheads may be too large for the ships. Now that can be fixed with the TOOL.
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  6. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,660
    Figurehead size depends on the size of the ship anyway. I did indeed need to scale down the double-headed dragon for use on "Brig_20_Gun1_181", but it would probably work unmodified on something larger such as a frigate.

    Copy the figurehead of your choice into the ship model, then run a quick FreePlay game to see how the ship looks. Save game while the ship is at sea. Then you can play around with the figurehead (or anything else on the model, for that matter), then reload the savegame and see at once how the ship looks after the change. Repeat as necessary.
     
  7. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,948
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Or do console Give Ship, Alt+Tab and reload scene so you don't even need to reload the save.
     
  8. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,660
    I'm told that it's not a good idea to run TOOL and the game at the same time.
     
  9. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,948
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I've done it before. Usually worked for me. Sometimes crashes, but TOOL does that sometimes anyway.
     

Share This Page