• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

WIP Hmm. Boarding- COAS + CMV 3.1.5

Capt. Daniel Wolf

Freebooter
Storm Modder
First of all:

Im somewhat new in AOP2, and never played the stock.
I have a Combined Mod 3.1.5 installed, planning to -unusually- play -through- a sailing game, and dont restart my career four times a week because of active modding XD

I realised, compared to the old POTC community mods,
that in COAS (+cmv) I only have to fight through the first deck, and alone to duel the captain.

In POTC, there were two, three, sometimes more decks to fight through, to finally capture the ship.
Now here, even when capturing class 4 ships with a cass 5, only one deck to clean :p

So sinking a ship with gunfire, or to destroy its riggings, or guns, is ALOT more hard, than capture it.

Virtually, I have no chance with my corvette LS, against a 36 gun, and two 34 gun dutch monsters,
as the english brigs run AWAY. Normal odds, I think. Time to run.

But I captured two, and sank the last one.
Yaaay, Iwe won the battle, I have ships, worth more than 600.000 to sell, and the battle lasted no more than 20 minutes.........

o_O I have one million in the bank, and only a class 5 ship's captain, lvl13.
(realistic sailing, and battle, and a harder-than-normal-something difficulty)

Ok, by the start, if the other ship had 350 souls, and mine had 220, then I had no chance to win the first deck,
but since i have the musket volley, even galleons arent a match.

POTC capturing battles lasted very long sometimes. So it made you -pay- the price for acquiring the ship.

Now I can simply capture every ship from class 6 to 4, and earn horribly large sums of money XD
with only little efforts.

My question is:

Do GOF, or other mods address this?

Or is there any way to modify this? :D