1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Finally got Sid's new one... HELP!

Discussion in 'Other Pirate Games' started by Darkheath, Sep 29, 2005.

  1. Darkheath

    Darkheath Landlubber

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    oklahoma city
    First of all, why can't I see more posts in the SMP forums? Are there really this few?

    Anyway.. Hi all, I haven't been around in a while.Got distracted by other games and put PotC down for a while. I put it back in the other day and... man! was I lost. Oiy...

    Anyway, I finally picked up a copy of Sid's "new" game and have a few questions I hope someone can answer.

    My main one is:

    How do I get the game to let me find the buried treasure?!?!? I have the map completed for Jack Rackham's treasure. I've found it near Trinidad in a little cove near Knife Shallows and Blood Marsh. There's even a little "buried treasure landmark" in the cove just south of a monestary. But any time I try to get close to it, it asks me if I want to debark and search, I do...and it tells me I find nothing. So I try and try and try and try and try again to get closer to it, but it won't let me. Meanwhile... weeks and months are just flying by! Luckily I have saved the game immediately before i start searching there. I even tried to go out, commandeer a smaller ship, a sloop (it may have been a pinace, can't remember, it was last night), to see if it can get close enough. But no.. I can't.

    Again.. this is the Xbox version. Anyone have any ideas on this. Is it a known bug?

    Also.. in the Genesis version of this game, When you went ashore.. you actually had a little icon of your shipmates you could move around on the land. Is that not in this? Why does it only give the option to land and say I find nothing? Shouldn't it let me get out and walk to the treasure?

    Anyway.. getting a little frustrated with this, because until I can pick this up, I won't get another pirate treasure quest. I mean, I'm already a Spanish Duke and haven't pick up my first treasure chest yet. I'm even #5 pirate already. Some pirate I am.. can't even get the treasure chest. Oiy...

    Anyway.. good to be back. I'd appreciate any help.

    Thanx in advance!

    dave
     
  2. Darkheath

    Darkheath Landlubber

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    oklahoma city
    Uh... hello? Anybody?
     
  3. Wolfwood

    Wolfwood Buccaneer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,110
    Location:
    Finland
    Sounds a bit like the Trinidad bug that's been discussed on Cutlass Isle/Hop in these threads:

    <a href="http://www.hookedonpirates.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3652&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=trinidad+bug" target="_blank">http://www.hookedonpirates.com/forums/view...ht=trinidad+bug</a>

    <a href="http://www.hookedonpirates.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3521&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=trinidad+bug" target="_blank">http://www.hookedonpirates.com/forums/view...ht=trinidad+bug</a>

    The X-Box version has many limitations in comparison to the PC version and one of them is the decreased size of the map, which results in the bug that you cannot always get to all treasures (since they can be located outside the visitable map). Another change is the removal of the land exploration part - in the PC version you can still roam the land with your men and have to find the treasures that way.
     
  4. Darkheath

    Darkheath Landlubber

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    oklahoma city
    Hey thanks for the response.

    Man.. that is lame. I'll look into it further when I get a chance. But this is SOUTH of Trinidad, I guess in what would be Venezuela. Did they shrink the map too much that way too?

    I must say I'm a bit disappointed with this game. But somehow it's as addictive as ever. I know that makes no sense, but essentially I feel like I'm playing a prettier version of Pirates GOLD! from my Genesis. There is no real difference. And not being able to walk on land is inexcusable!

    I like the dancing, I especially like that they have different songs, tho' even MORE variety is needed. But nobody has ANY personality! And there's no consistancy. I start bombarding a Dutch town, accidentally sail too close and enter the port... I say "WTH" and go see the Gov. HE PROMOTES ME!!! What's that all about?

    Pirates was BRILLIANT for it's time. But it's no where near brilliant in this time.

    Am I far off on the consensus on this?
     
  5. Darkheath

    Darkheath Landlubber

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    oklahoma city
    Wow.. not many in the Sid Meier's section. I guess that answers my question.
     
  6. Wolfwood

    Wolfwood Buccaneer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,110
    Location:
    Finland
    There's more traffic at HoP (links above), which is where you should be if you still want to give the game a chance. This is not intended as member-stealing - I merely mean that there will be more people there, who are still playing the game.

    The bug (which exists only in the X-Box version) is called Trinidad bug, because Trinidad is the town mentioned in the map. It is indeed south from Trinidad where the map size is reduced.

    If you get the PC version, you'll be rid of this bug, though... Although the PC version has some of its own, none of them are game-breaking, like this one.
     
  7. rupertlittlebear

    rupertlittlebear Retired Duke Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,626
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Landlocked
    Ok Wolfie, be fair now.

    Advertise the RPG over at HOP.
     
  8. GuybrushThreepwood

    GuybrushThreepwood Mancomb Seepgood?

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Melee Island
    I have the Xbox version as well, and I haven't gotten this bug, but about going on land, they changed it in the Xbox version, so you don't walk on land, it just basically searches for you. Pretty convenient, let me tell you. I've played the PC version. In fact, my friends brother helped work on it, his name is Tim McCracken, you can see his name in the back as QA Advisor. Almost got a free copy. <img src="http://www.piratesahoy.com/forum/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/boom.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":boom" border="0" alt="boom.gif" />
     

Share This Page