1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Mod Release AoP:CT - Historical Immersion Mod v5.0

Discussion in 'Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales' started by Modder01, Nov 6, 2017.

  1. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,819
    Gender:
    Male
    It turns out that the only version of this ship that I still have is the GOF2 version of the POTC version. Since it works in COAS it should work in your Supermod. This one has 2 bows, one with the critter and one without.

    Uh ohh. There are many different textures in this version. Dunno how it worked in GOF2 at all.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 22, 2017
  2. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    No Problem Hylie. I just took the GOF2 stuff and put it in no problem. I did fiddle around with the files to assign the critter as default bow on the War Galleon, but otherwise it was a pretty smooth transition. I did notice a few things with the AOP2 sailorspoints for the Tartanes and the War Galleon. In the War Galleon the only problem is the rigging climber locators are too shallow making the sailors phase through the rigging I can fix that, but I will need some time to re download the sailor tool. the Tartane the sailors are actually phasing through the deckboards because of the angled nature of the Tartanes, despite the higher resolution model.
     
  3. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    Beta Test Iteration 2 Update Notes:

    -Replaced the Tartanes, Barque and War Galleon Models with their GOF 2 Counterparts to correct bow wave problems, missing cannons on the barque and problems with integrating new sailorspoints files for the tartanes.

    -Fixed More Sailorspoints for the War Galleon, Barque and Tartanes.

    -----
    Upload is in progress.
     
  4. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    Beta Test Iteration 2 is Now Live!
     
    Hylie Pistof and DeathDaisy like this.
  5. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    Teaser Trailer Up:
     
  6. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    I will need some assistance on this one... Since Chezjfrey has not replied to my messages for a while, even though I know he's been online recently. The options bug that I have found is doing some weird things to the error messages:
    In encountersmap.c the system log states:
    Квестовому энкаунтеру не назначен персонаж!
    which is, in rough translation:
    Quest Character not assigned a Character!

    Also related is the following errors in the logs:
    RUNTIME ERROR - file: seadogs.c; line: 401
    Can't open save file: SAVE\Player\Player QuickSave
    RUNTIME ERROR - file: seadogs.c; line: 401
    Can't open save file: SAVE\Player\Player QuickSave
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2018
  7. ChezJfrey

    ChezJfrey Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    267
    Easy there, Trigger. I took responsibility for making this work with the new engine and even added a couple features, like the ability to move the menu backscene camera to suit your perspective tastes; that was what I signed up for. I had in no intention, nor inclination to support all aspects of this mod beyond that. Still, despite that, I still chipped in and fixed many problems in the original scripts of this mod and helped to complete the Dutchman Quest; this thread is a testament to that. At this point, I assumed ownership of bug fixing for what I see claimed as your particular version of this mod, would be taken up by you.

    This error:
    RUNTIME ERROR - file: seadogs.c; line: 401
    Can't open save file: SAVE\Player\Player QuickSave

    Is only due to hitting the F9 key, which is mapped to 'QuickLoad'. However, if you have never hit F6 to create a QuickSave, the file is not there, and you get that error. If you hit F6 first, you will see a QuickSave file get created in your save profile directory, and if you then hit F9, it will load that same file and no error presents.

    I have made no changes to the original encounters_map.c file, so if there are runtime errors like you describe, I did not introduce them. But, it is a script issue, not an engine one.

    I have also made no changes to how the options file is saved/read. If it is not loading the options the way you expect, it is mostly handled in the script files. However, what you describe is actually common; the same behavior exists in COAS. The options file exists in the root game directory, and for new games, those are the options read in from the file and used. When you create a new profile, those options are copied to an options subdirectory in the named save profile directory. If you change the options on the main menu, it does not change the options used within each profile and you have to load a game from that directory and then change the options. The same problem exists when changing key mappings and other game settings that are stored in object attributes...when you load the game, those options have to be changed, then the game resaved again to store, as most of those types of option settings get written back into the specific save game data because they had been stored in gameinterface object attribute values, and not re-read from the options file. It has unfortunately always been that way.
     
  8. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    Sorry, my mistake for mouthing off. Last week was a Death March in coding so I was a bit exhausted when I wrote those messages and was not myself. Again, my profound apologies for this as I was just about ready to release it fully. This will go into full release next weekend.
     
  9. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    Final Additions (Will Upload to Google Drive Tonight):
    -Added More English Town, Sailing and World Map Themes.
    -Added the New Credits Roll with Mod Development Credits at the End.

    Upload will go to Google drive first, then to Mod DB with a new article.
     
    Hylie Pistof and DeathDaisy like this.
  10. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  11. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    @ChezJfrey I have a question for you about anti-aliasing. A user that downloaded it was using the Nvidia control panel to use it's built in AA to smooth out the models and textures. That caused a crash. Any thoughts?

    This is what he said on ModDB:
    "Hmm, this game does not allow to add anti-aliasing from nvidia control panel and SweetFX makes it crash. Is there any way to add AA to this game? Without it it just looks awful and the post-processing setting does not look good also. I remember being able to force AA in the older Pirate games."
     
  12. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,819
    Gender:
    Male
    How odd. I play it with 8X AA and 16X AF in the AMD control panel just like GOF2 and POTC. The problem is probably in his hardware.
     
  13. ChezJfrey

    ChezJfrey Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    267
    Don't know. But, since I don't have a video card with these cooler, newer features, such as antialiasing, and can't reliably ascertain whether any coding changes will work towards resolving any of these kinds of issues, I am willing to accept shipment of various computers with all sorts of video cards for troubleshooting and programming for compatibility; I need samples to experiment and verify.

    In lieu of that, I decided to just throw in an antialiasing option built into the game, and as of about 15 minutes ago, it now supports on/off FSAA, using DirectX options that support that feature. Bit of a performance hit for my lowly machine, but it can be toggled.
     

Share This Page